A weekend of firsts at the Somerset Levels

Sunday was a day of many firsts for me: first time to see the sun rising over Bristol from the top of Cabot tower, first time to see a kingfisher in the wild with my camera at the ready, first time to see the flooding in Somerset in person, first time to see a starling murmuration. Pesky branches blocking the view galore, both with the kingfisher and the murmuration, but the Somerset Levels is indeed a treat when it comes to birds. And a first to see a butterfly midwinter! Now that I’ve seen my first, I’ll be able to have a better go at these subjects second time around.

Goldfinch in low light

Goldfinch in low light

Kingfisher with a fish

Kingfisher with a fish

Kingfisher perched

Kingfisher perched

3 different reserve areas make up what most people refer to as the Somerset Levels: Ham Wall (RSPB), Shapwick Heath (Natural England) and Westhay Moor (Somerset Wildlife Trust). They look a bit different in terms of what visits them but at this time of year it’s great for Marsh Harriers, bearded tits, bitterns and obviously the starlings. Kingfishers and otters also inhabit the area all year round along with many other funky animals!

Starlings coming in

Starlings coming in

A Focus on Nature will be holding an event here the weekend of the 1st of February. Sadly I’ll be on the other side of the world for a few weeks so I can’t make it but if you’re around definitely give them a visit!

(I just realised I ended each paragraph with an exclamation. I clearly must be very excited. Now my writing has been tainted with the lack of enthusiasm of a fullstop.)

I'd like to know your opinion too

