Back from Japan

Sorry for the delay in this post. You might notice that I’ve changed the layout to something a bit more minimalist for the homepage, and I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I got back on Saturday from my very cold, exhausting but amazing trip to Japan – my first time to join an official film crew out on location. Being with a great cameraman and some other very experienced crew, I was able to learn a lot through observation and participation. Our itinerary for the 3-week period was really busy plus were stymied by the weather – being subject to an usual low pressure front giving us the largest snowfall of the winter so far, thick fog, and another snow storm that didn’t move for 4 days.

By the sea

IMG_0263

IMG_0262

The extent of our trekking didn’t go much beyond moving kit in and out of the van for a maximum distance of about 50 metres (it seems that shoots either require a lot of heavy lifting, or not much at all… disregarding the fact that your baggage is about 500kg and consists of 30-odd cases). There were four of us on location plus one local contact – a large crew for natural history filming! Most crews don’t consist of more than the cameraman and director accompanied by a local ‘fixer’ or scientist – the more people, the more hassle and more disturbance to whatever you’re aiming to film (budget aside).

IMG_0270

My trip was suddenly extended by a week, which gave me the opportunity to work one-on-one with another cameraman as well as a day off in Tokyo. On that day I ended up walking for about 2 hours around Shinjuku and Shibuya, along roads I walked frequently back in 2011 before I moved back to the UK, and walked again when I visited briefly mid-2012. It seemed like every time I go back, I’m one step closer to achieving my dream.

Tokyo old vs new

Only 4 weeks now before I go back again, by which time the cherry blossoms will be in full bloom! Lots more Japan talk to look forward to.

Cherry blossom postcard

I'd like to know your opinion too

